Auto lights disabling

All Vauxhall Astra K related discussions
User avatar
Crosseyxpower
Posts: 385
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:45 am
Astra Model: Sri nav
Astra Colour: Red
Location: South Wales

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Crosseyxpower » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:14 pm

Can you show before and after pictures?

User avatar
Corbil
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:15 am
Astra Model: 1.6 Cdti Innovation 136bhp
Astra Colour: Summit White
Location: Greece

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Corbil » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:14 am

I tried to do the trick on my stock switch.
You must be really careful while dissemblance the parts.
Unfortunately I broke mine while trying so be careful especially on that brown part. Later on I will upload a photo how the switch is disassembled

kjns
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:13 pm
Astra Model: ST 1.4T 150hp AT
Astra Colour: Power Red
Location: Finland

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by kjns » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:24 am

Arbe_GTC wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 11:38 am
disassembly the light switch completly, remove the brown piece and cut here. (see the picture)
the cut must be clean to enable the "0"
Damn, I have to take a look at my original switch and see if it can be done to it 8-)
I now have the corsa switch installed that has the 0 position, but has red lights..

User avatar
Corbil
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:15 am
Astra Model: 1.6 Cdti Innovation 136bhp
Astra Colour: Summit White
Location: Greece

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Corbil » Tue Mar 24, 2020 6:56 pm

Here is the disassembled switch

Image

Bogbody
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:57 pm

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Bogbody » Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:33 am

So ... looks like one could
A. Swap the circuit board to fix the LED colours.
B. Change the fog light switch to make a rear fog only version.
Interesting ......... :-)

User avatar
Corbil
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:15 am
Astra Model: 1.6 Cdti Innovation 136bhp
Astra Colour: Summit White
Location: Greece

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Corbil » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:30 am

I was thinking the A option....Just to keep the stock circuit board (no need to swap leds) and place it to the corsa case

Bogbody
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:57 pm

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Bogbody » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:41 pm

Looked into it and yes, it should be possible to make one (with the right colour LEDs) from 2 corsa ones with the circuit board from the existing Astra one.
Two suitable switches would cost £40 or so.
Now is it worth £40 and a bit of dorking about?
If one decided to accept the wrong LEDs you could leave the Astra one alone but still have the correct rear fog only switch.

User avatar
Corbil
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:15 am
Astra Model: 1.6 Cdti Innovation 136bhp
Astra Colour: Summit White
Location: Greece

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Corbil » Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:59 am

Why you need 2 corsa switches in order to make one switch correct?
Even-though 40 £ is a negligible amount due to the damage that can have my matrix lights while remaining most of the time in on mode.

880PEL
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 6:16 am
Astra Model: OPC-line 1,6T Automatic

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by 880PEL » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:33 am

What damage???
Pessimistic LED lifetime 5000h
Realistic avg speed 40mph
200000 miles until failure.
Believe me, there are plenty other items to fail before :)
This auto light disabling is annoying me! Why would anyone ever do that. Auto lights provide visibility for You and for drivers around.
Some of you possibly like driving in heavy rain with DRL-s? Well done.

User avatar
Corbil
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:15 am
Astra Model: 1.6 Cdti Innovation 136bhp
Astra Colour: Summit White
Location: Greece

Re: Auto lights disabling

Post by Corbil » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:35 pm

880PEL wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:33 am
What damage???
Pessimistic LED lifetime 5000h
Realistic avg speed 40mph
200000 miles until failure.
Believe me, there are plenty other items to fail before :)
This auto light disabling is annoying me! Why would anyone ever do that. Auto lights provide visibility for You and for drivers around.
Some of you possibly like driving in heavy rain with DRL-s? Well done.
My realistic average speed is over 70km/h. I have no traffic lights and no traffic jam on my route. My job is 150 km away and doing this trip every day 6 days a week on national road with speed limits around 140km/h.
Have the car already 2,5 years and I have done 105.000 km's
Nothing else failed till now and I hope it wont.
In my country we have plenty of sun 300 days a year, is not like UK that is most of the year cloudy. Also the lights ON mode is not obligatory here.
So as you see, my driving habits are quite far away from yours.
I don't understand your way commenting at this topic. If you don't like it don't follow it. If you want to help be so kind and do it. I payed a quite good amount for something that doesn't respond as it is designed to do. Believe me if the auto-lights were responding that good I wouldn't bother to change the switch. Get a nice proof of what I mean.


Image

P.S I already visit once the workshop to change in guarantee the sensor, and the second sensor reacts exactly the same. Also be informed that there is no any way to change the sensitivity of the sensor through the program.

Post Reply