Vauxhall Astra K Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a work Samsung S4 which shows my texts on the screen when connected via Bluetooth.

I also have an iPhone 5s, but this does not show my message inbox when connected via Bluetooth, what am I doing wrong guys?

G

·
I'm not sure whether the iPhone will be compatible in that way due to the nature of the OS, I'll try and find out for you (I work in the industry).

G

·
I've had an ask and it looks like it's not going to work unless there's a dedicated app for it to connect to the system. Could be wrong though and hopefully someone else who has an iPhone will be able to clarify.

·
Registered
360 Posts
Yes, to use Apple CarPlay you must connect via a cable. Bluetooth works well but offers limited functionality compared to CarPlay.

However, even CarPlay won't display text messages as that is regarded as a distraction to drivers. It will read your messages though.

Apple do now support CarPlay via Bluetooth but I don't believe any car manufacturers support it yet. Hopefully it will be added via a software update but we shouldn't assume it will.

I suspect Android Auto also needs a cable connection but can't be sure.

·
Registered
463 Posts
From what I've read android auto needs a cable, also there is an app called android auto so maybe you need to install that as well?

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
My Android phone works fine via Bluetooth.

What I want is for the car to read the texts from my iPhone out loud via Bluetooth. I know you can get siri to do it IF the phone is connected by a USB cable and you are using car play.

If Apple think it's a safety matter, why can siri do it?

G

·
Is there a setting in accessibility which will read out text messages? Not sure if there's something available there.

·
Registered
360 Posts
MarcR said:
What I want is for the car to read the texts from my iPhone out loud via Bluetooth.