Vauxhall Astra K Forum banner
1 - 20 of 108 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was bored with the standard Astra K speedo, and found out the Insignia B digital cluster was a straight fit. Just take some trims off and unscrew two bolts, that's it. Of course it needed some programming to get it working, but everything is fully working now.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Most important is to program your car's VIN number to the cluster to get the odometer to work.
Unfortunately Vauxhall/Opel cannot do this, as their software will throw up an error that the unit is not suitable for the Astra.
However, with custom software this is all doable.
When the VIN is programmed you will need to activate and deactivate some functions according to the specs of your car.
For this you need a special cable and special software. I am not a techie so I found someone who did it for me.
You might want to contact EzioAuditore on this forum, he can help you out programming the unit.

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
Do you by any chance atleast see what the "special software" is called.

I know of no "official" "alternative" software for programming these things so i would guess that the software is probably something they wrote themselves, and as such this will not be a "simple switch and program" job at all.

Did they program the cluster, in the car....Ie, was the "change VIN and functions" something that was done with the cluster in the car or did they have to program it, out of the car, using clips to connect to individual chips or connectors ?

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
These gauges on the side are analogue, the part within is an 8" digital screen. It is possible to program some more gauges within this screen, such as oil and boost pressure, and battery voltage. But I preferred the cleaner look without all these extra gauges.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
astraowner said:
Do you by ....